“The Angela Mao Ying Collection” on 3 Disc DVD June 17th!


Angela Mao Ying, the “Lady Whirlwind” Queen of kung-fu, swordplay and hapkido is getting six of her films collected in a three disc DVD set from Shout!Factory.  Angela was in 35 or more films thoughout the 1970’s and the 1980’s, the majority of which were with Golden Harvest.

“There have been kung fu heroines and slashing swordswomen before her, but never had a female action star taken center cage in world cinema and held it, the way Angela Mao did.”

 – Ric Meyers, Films Of Fury: The Kung Fu Movie Book

The 6 Film Set Includes:

When Taekwondo Strikes (1973)

The Tournament (1974)

Stoner (1974)

The Himalayan (1976)

A Queen’s Ransom (1976)

Broken Oath (1977)

This DVD shall be Region 1 with English Subtitles

Birthdate : 20/9/1950
Nationality : Taiwan
Workplace : Hong Kong, Taiwan
Activities : Actress (37), Cameo (3)

At the age of 5, Angela Mao was enrolled into an Opera School in Taiwan. Some of her classmates were Judy Lee, Charlie Chin and James Tien (all future actors) and she trained for the next 14 years.

In 1969 she was spotted by director Huang Feng and signed to a contract at Golden Harvest. She left Golden Harvest in the late 70’s and made a few more Taiwanese productions Two Great Cavaliers, Scorching Sun and Duel of Death among them.

She retired in 1980 at the young age of 30 – got married and basically left the spotlight for good.[/quote]

Data via Hong King Cinemagic. Check them out for more classic info.

The_Angela Mao_Ying Collection_Poster_Collection

About Author

Leave A Reply